Skip to main content

The Governments of the Republics of Zambia and Zimbabwe are pleased to announce the launch of the Kavango Zambezi Trans-frontier Conservation Area (KAZA) UNIVISA on 28 November, 2014.

The KAZA UNIVISA is a common tourist visa for the SADC region which shall be piloted by Zambia and Zimbabwe for six (6) months.  After the pilot period, the UNIVISA is intended to be rolled out to three (3) other countries in the KAZA region – namely Angola, Botswana and Namibia.  More countries in the SADC region are expected to join in the UNIVISA initiative at the later phase.

During the launch on Friday 28th November the border crossing shall be closed from 06h00 to 14h30 and as soon as the borders are open again the UNIVISA will be effective immediately  and will be administered at eight (8) ports of entry as follows:

Zambia:                                                                               Zimbabwe:

KK International Airport                                                  Harare International Airport

Harry Mwaanga International Airport                        Victoria Falls international Airport

Victoria Falls Border                                                         Victoria Falls Border

Kazangula Border                                                              Kazangula Border

The UNIVISA will be issued at a standard fee of US$50 – where credit card point of sale facilities are not available at port of entry it is recommended that clients have US$50 available for payment.

Validity – the KAZA UNIVISA will be valid for 30 days as long as you remain in Zimbabwe and Zambia and clients can cross into Zimbabwe/Zambia as frequently as they like within the 30 day period.  (If the UNIVISA is obtained at Victoria Falls and you cross over to Zimbabwe at Kariba or Chirundu or vice versa the visa shall be valid) It also covers those who visit Botswana for day trips through the Kazangula Borders – it will not be valid if staying in Botswana overnight, in this case you would need to purchase a new Visa. The UNIVISA cannot be extended however you can buy a new UNIVISA (up to 3 per year).

Eligble Countries:

Citizens from 40 countries listed below shall be eligible for the KAZA UNIVISA obtainable at the eight (8) ports of entry as stated above.

  1. Argentina
  2. Austria
  3. Australia
  4. Belgium
  5. Brazil
  6. Britain (UK)
  7. Brunei
  8. Burundi
  9. Canada
  10. Cook Islands
  11. Czech Republic
  12. Denmark
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. Germany
  16. Greece
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Israel
  20. Italy
  21. Japan
  22. Liechtenstein
  23. Luxembourg
  24. Monaco
  25. Netherlands
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway
  28. Poland
  29. Portugal
  30. Puerto Rico
  31. Russia
  32. Rwanda
  33. Slovakia Republic
  34. Slovenia Republic
  35. Spain
  36. Sweden
  37. Switzerland
  38. UAE
  39. Uruguay
  40. USA

Clients will be directed to the dedicated counter where the special visa shall be issued – the visa is for holiday purposes only and not for business purposes.

If someone wants to enter Zambia or Zimbabwe whose Nationality is not listed above then normal (current) specific Zambia /Zimbabwe visa / entry requirements apply.

All current visa processes for both countries are still available and in operation however generally the UNIVISA will be more cost effective & efficient for a tourists requirements.

Please note during this pilot phase clients entering from Namibia, Malawi and other Botswana borders will not be able to purchase the Univisa – the Univisa is ONLY available at the 8 ports of entry previously mentioned.

For further details please visit or email Zambia Tourism Board or Zimbabwe Tourism Authority